top of page

Episode 93 S3-12

Survival Story: The Tyrant Series


Special Guest:

The Walls of Freedom Ch 12

L. Douglas Hogan

In this chapter of The Walls of Freedom, Daniel's condition worsen as the family continues their mission to find help for the small boy. As the survival journey becomes an ever greater struggle, author L. Douglas Hogan joins us to discuss the survival story he created in The Tyrant Series.

Play the Podcast

Audio Drama Slide end a (YouTube Display Ad) (1800 x 720 px) (2600 x 720 px)(3).png

Download Day After Disaster for FREE!

One week commercial-free access to the audio drama, access to the Changing Earth Archives, behind-the-scenes clips, and more!

The Tyrant Series consists of three novels, The Rise, Main Core, and Endgame. As well as, a collection of five short stories, Tori's Journey, and a novelette, Acts of Defiance. The plot features a group of southern Illinois men and women in a world where the Constitution of the United States of America has been thrown out the window and martial law has taken over. Doug describes a time after "the flip" when martial law took over and the UN appeared on the scene.


The Mississippi River was used as an entry point to the United States by UN insurgence forces. Survival and extreme persecution become their lifestyle and they have to fight back to save their country. The United States is controlled by "the district" or the DC area. They are in control of all the natural resources due to executive orders that were truly put into law by Kennedy and Obama. The citizens start to accumulate to a bigger fighting force to restore liberty.


Doug creates real world characters in his books. Nathan is the main group leader. Denny is his best friend. Jess is a strong female character who enters the book and Tori is another female character that takes charge of her own survival. Tori received a big response from fans, prompting L. Douglas Hogan to create her own book of short stories featuring Tori. His characters are sometimes named after real people but their character nuances may vary from real life. 

L. Douglas Hogan likes to write organically and lets the story create itself. In the beginning Jess's story is the one that leads you into the world of the main characters. He considers the randomness of real life and includes this intense drama in his writings. He is not afraid to remove any character at any time if it adds emotional value to the adventure.


There are some practical lessons taught in the The Tyrant Series. The first thing is you need to be familiar with your survival equipment and weapons systems.  You need to be comfortable with them when you need to rely on them. Think of survival scenarios that you can place yourself in and consider what you would do to survive. These scenarios will help you avoid anxiety and have a game plan when disaster strikes. Know your communications systems. Being cut off from the rest of the world when you are desperate for information, is not a good idea. Survivors will need to connect for long-term survival.


L. Douglas Hogan also wants readers to take away some important messages from his fictional work. He wants the citizens of the United States to stay aware of the growing globalist agenda and the threat that poses to our country. He also wants readers to remember that liberty isn't free. We need to stay vigilant and protect the Constitution because it is under constant assault. Watch the news and hear both sides. Know the agendas behind the propaganda. He leaves us with the importance of being prepared. Have a group of people who have the skills you need to survive.

Sharing is Caring!

Please Subscribe, Like and Share

Follow us on social media to discuss the novels, audio drama, and latest podcast takeaways.

  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
The Walls of Freedom Ch 12

L. Douglas Hogan

L. Douglas Hogan is a U.S.M.C. veteran with over twenty years in public service. Among these are three years as an anti-tank infantryman, one year as a Marine Corps Marksmanship Instructor, ten years as a part-time police officer, and seventeen years working in state government doing security work and supervision. He is the best-selling author of “Oath Takers”, has authored four books in a series titled Tyrant, and is working on the sixth a final book of the series. He has been married over twenty years, has two children, and is faithful to his church, where he resides in southern Illinois.

bottom of page